Paratransit Roadeo

Registration is Open: 2019 Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo

Florida’s transit professionals are heading to Jacksonville, Florida, the weekend of April 5-6, 2019 for the 2019 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo. The 2019 Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo will be hosted by Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA).

It’s that time again – roundup your best drivers and technicians and come participate in the 2019 Annual Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo in Jacksonville, Florida. The Florida Triple Crown Bus Roadeo combines the FPTA and RTAP roadeos into a single, colossal weekend honoring all of Florida’s paratransit and fixed route bus maintenance technicians and bus operators.

The annual event is a joint effort of the Florida Public Transportation Association (FPTA), the Florida Rural Transit Assistance Program (RTAP), the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), and the Florida Association of Coordinated Transit Systems (FACTS), and hosted by JTA.

There will be training opportunities for the participants. Then the bus operator participant’s skills will be tested with a written test and the on-course competition. The maintenance technicians will face similar challenges with a written test and a series of diagnostic tests.

As always, the event will end with an Awards Banquet that will crown and recognize our champions in the paratransit van and cutaway divisions, the fixed route bus division, paratransit maintenance technician and the maintenance technician’s team competition.

Registration, orientation, training, written tests and the Friday evening reception and Saturday awards banquet will be held at the Lexington Hotel. All competitors should report to the Lexington Hotel on Friday morning at 11:00 am for their mandatory orientation meeting.

The Saturday competition will take place at the JTA facility at 100 N Myrtle Ave Jacksonville, FL 32204. Transportation from the host hotel to the JTA facility will be provided.

NOTE: In the event that any of the operator competition events do not have a minimum of (8) registrants, that event will be cancelled. In the event of a cancellation, registered contestants will be given the opportunity to compete in another division or receive a refund of their registration fee.

roadeo registration button


Florida RTAP Paratransit Roadeo Winners


Above and Beyond Award Winners

2012 Above & Beyond Award Winner Dottie Higgins, VOTRAN

2012 Above & Beyond Award Winner
Dottie Higgins, VOTRAN

Between 2004 to 2012, each year at the RTAP Florida Paratransit Roadeo, the Florida Department of Transportation Public Transit Office, with the assistance of Sure-Lok, Inc., selected and recognized an exemplary Florida paratransit operator for the “Above and Beyond Award.”

The purpose of the award was to honor a driver who consistently performed in an outstanding manner and showed great care and concern for passengers with special needs.

There were three primary eligibility criteria. They were:

  1. The driver took time on a regular basis to create a safe and secure environment for passengers with special needs,
  2. The driver properly secured the mobility aid and occupant restraints, and
  3. The driver demonstrated sensitivity toward individuals with special needs.